Taiwan National Taiwan Normal University Prof. Jacky Baltes



Presidents, vice-presidents, chairs, and co-chairs are selected for a three-year term. There is a term limit of a maximum of two consecutive terms for each position. At the end of the second term, the position must be re-assigned through election by the FIRA Executive Committee and FIRA Chapters Assembly, and the previous holder must take a one year break from that position.


FIRA Executive Committee


Korea KAIST Prof. Jong-Hwan Kim Honorary President
Taiwan National Taiwan Normal University Prof. Jacky Baltes President
Korea   Ms. Christine Kim Executive Secretary
Canada University of Manitoba Prof. John Anderson Treasurer
Taiwan National Kaohsiung First University of Science and Technology Prof. Kuo-Yang Tu   Vice President FIRA Sports
Mexico Instituto Tecnologico de Celaya Prof. Karla Camarillo Co-Chair HuroCup
Singapore Nanyang Politechnic Dr. Kevin Lim Co-Chair
Korea Mokpo University Prof. Young Jae Ryoo Co-Chair
Taiwan National Cheng Kung University Prof. Tzuu-Hseng Steve Li Chiar AndroSot
Korea Sang Myung University  Prof. Tae Gu Kang Co-Chair
Taiwan Tamkung University Prof. Ching-Chang Wong Chiar RoboSot
China China University of Geoscience Prof. Zhongwen Luo Chiar SimuroSot
      Chiar MIroSot
Iran Amirkabir University of Technology Dr. Soroush Sadeghnejad Chair Mini-DRC FIRA Challenge
Iran Amirkabir University of Technology Amirali Setayeshi Co-Chair
Iran Amirkabir University of Technology Farzad Ahmadinejad Chair   FIRA Air
Taiwan Taipei Municipal Government Yi-Ching Chen Chair

HuroCup Youth;

Junior Mini-DRC; 

Mission Challenge;

City Race;

 Robot Sumo;

FIRA Youth
China FIRA Youth China Handson Lee Co-Chair
Iran FIRA Youth Iran Hossein Mahdipour Co-Chair




United Kingdom University of Plymouth Prof. Paul Robinson Friends of FIRA Advisory Board
National University of Singapore Prof. Prahlad Vadakkepat
Austria Vienna University of Technology Prof. Peter Kopacek
China Harbin Institute of Technology Prof. Bing Rong Hong
Germany University of Dortmund Prof. Norbert Jesse
United Kingdom University of Bristol Prof. Guido Herrmann
New Zealand Massey University Prof. Gourab Sengupta
Australia University of Western Australia Prof. Thomas Braunl
Iran Amirkabir University of Technology Prof. Mohammadreza Razfar


European FIRA Chapter
• Promotion of robots in entertainment, leisure, and hobby especially robot soccer.

- Organization of the European Championship annually (e.g. 2002 Austria)
- Organization of national and international Exhibition games
- Organization of invited sessions on national and international scientific events
- Initiation of common research projects
- Publishing of an INTERNET newsletter twice a year
- Homepage 

- Autonomous mobile robots (MAS)
- Cooperation
- Path planning in an unknown environment
- Swarms
- Adoption and learning
- Use of incomplete and contradictory information
- Smart sensors
- Sensor fusion
- Educational aspects
- Changing roles in a team (flexibility) 

- President: P. Kopacek
- Vice Presidents: B. Reusch (GER), P. Robinson (UK), J. Sa da Costa (PT)
- Secretary: M.W.Han (KOR/AUT)
- Secretariat: IHRT - VUT 

At least one annual meeting - usually during the European Championship. Other business will be done by e-mail 

Involved countries:
- EU
- Partners: Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia.
Asian FIRA Chapter
• Promotion of robots in entertainment/education, leisure, and hobby especially soccer robot
• Contribution to realizing and extending robot technology (RT) 

- Organization of the Asian Championship
- Organization of national and international conference and exhibition robots
- Organization of national and Asian scientific events including exhibition games 
- Publishing of an INTERNET newsletter twice a year
- Homepage

- Autonomous mobile robots (MAS)
- Multiple-robotic system
- Multi-agent systems
- Adoption and learning
- Smart sensors
- Sensor fusion
- Educational aspects
- Changing roles in a team (flexibility)
- Artificial life
- Machine vision for robot intelligence
- Micro and Nanorobots

- President: K.H. Choi (Korea)
- Vice Presidents: Han-Pang Huang (Taiwan)
- Secretary: B.Chang (Korea)
- Secretariat: undecided

- One annual meeting usually during the Asian Championship. Also, Tele-meeting will be organized. Other business will be done
   by e-mail

Involved countries:
- China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, U.A.E, Saudi, Iran, Malaysia, Thailand, etc.


International Events

Recent News

Welcome to the Federation of International Robot-Sport Association

Robot soccer can be portrayed as a competition of advanced robot technology within a confined space. It offers a challenging arena to the young generation and researchers working with autonomous mobile robotic systems. It is hoped that FIRA’s flagship event, called the FIRA Robot World Cup (or the FIRA Cup in short), which started in 1996, together with many other FIRA events, will help generate interests in robotics in the young minds.

Through these events, FIRA hopes to help them better understand and appreciate, with interests, the scientific concepts and technological developments involved. FIRA believes that some of these interests will fuel scientific and engineering skills that ultimately develop into research outcomes to serve mankind in a variety of ways.

Ever since its establishment, FIRA has had venues for its annual FIRA Cup in Australia, Brazil, China, France and Korea. Making progress over successive years since 1996, FIRA Cup has now attained world recognition as a robot festival.


Follow Us